Karton x Home Slice for Dorm Room Display

ImageImage

Image

ImageImage

So excited to see the delightful Home Slice range I developed for a fair trade women’s co-op in Guatemala, in this RMIT Melbourne Display, entitled ‘Dorm Room’.  Perfect timing for this week, #fairtradefortnight (fair trade fortnight) where we think about who made our clothes- well I say-

why stop at clothes?

Why not extend this to our homewares? 

And further still choose to visually delightful ethical items!

They look so great with the Karton student furniture range(cardboard+white+brights=all time favorite). The Karton collection is brilliant.  So simple, so practical- and perfect for those late night ‘I want to completely change the layout of my room’ procrastination moments.  I feel like with my lack of arm strength I could easily move house on my own… and yet the beds are so strong you can stand 40 people on them- no worries!

So if you are in the CBD, take a moment to check out the cushions and appreciate that each thread of the cushion was woven and embroidered by hand.  Neither RMIT or myself are receiving a commission for cushions sold, so the cushion range is a price accessible to anyone, and which in turn helps provide more work to the women.

Also feel free to buy the hand screen printed Pinkey Square tea towel, my other creative group PinkeySqure and I created. It is floating around the display too.

Big thanks to Helainie Gorr, RMIT and Claire Beale

and of course Isobel who poured hours into hand weaving these beautiful creations.

(See a day in her life by clicking on her highlighted name above)

If you are interested, leave a comment, or visit the RMIT shop

City campus

17-25 Little La Trobe St
Building 83

Opening times:
Mon – Fri 9 am–5 pm

Tel. +61 3 9925 9878

4 thoughts on “Karton x Home Slice for Dorm Room Display

Leave a comment